Wind Power in Sri Lanka

Here are some photos of a wind farm I discovered in Ambewela, near Nuwara Eliya, during our recent trip to Sri Lanka.

I love this picture of the cows grazing around the wind turbines. The region is home to two dairy farms, Ambewela Farms and New Zealand Farms. The wind turbines are located at the Ambewela Farms.

The last photo reminds me, interestingly, of a similar scene from the Tripods series from the 80s, when I was a kid.

The wind turbines are small, probably not more than 500 or 600KW each, although it is a new facility. A little bit of research on the internet showed me that it was logistically not possible to transport larger wind turbines through the mountains to the site. If anyone is interested in reading the full feasibility report, here you go.

Wind Energy is still in its infancy in Sri Lanka, and the Ambewela Project is one of the initial test projects at about 3MW. We also drove by the pilot project in Hambantota, but I wasn’t able to whip out my phone and take a photo in time.

With the exception of India, wind energy is struggling to get out of its infancy in the rest of South Asia. Let’s see how well Sri Lanka does, now that she can spend her resources fully on the development of the population, rather than on fighting a bloody civil war.

This entry was published on June 13, 2012 at 7:02 am. It’s filed under Alternative Energy, Renewable Energy, Sri Lanka, Technology, tourism, travel, Wind Energy, Windpower and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “Wind Power in Sri Lanka

  1. Isn’t it terrible – I knew nothing about this project, or the Hambantota (though where else, but Hambantota could it be?) pilot project. Thanks for telling me something I should have known about my ‘adopted’ country. Must find out more about it. Thanks for the link:)

    • Apparently the Hambantota project was not very successful, since it is about 3 kms inland, rather than directly near the ocean. This seems to be because of birds migratory patterns, so they were not able to place the wind turbines in the spots with the best wind.

  2. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks

    • Thanks, Power Page. I used the Imbalance 2 Theme on WordPress. WordPress offers dozens of themes for free. You can choose a theme that suits your purpose. It makes things very simple. I did not need to hire anyone to do this.

  3. Have your green energy business, website, or product seen by thousands of unique visitors per month on GreenergyNews.com. Please visit http://www.greenergynews.com/Submit for more information.

  4. Great pics. I remember the Tripods series, it scared the bejesus out of me.

    • Honestly speaking, I read the entire Tripod series during the trip to Sri Lanka, which is probably why this photo reminded me of the scene from the TV series, when I saw it as a child. I still think it is a cool photo though, don’t you?

  5. Iranga Gunathilaka on said:

    I worked at this power plant construction project as an Electrical Engineer (Sri Lankan contractor’s side). Each generator has capacity of 250kW. And there are 12 wind turbines. These photos were taken at the internal distribution line construction period.
    At Puttlam district of Sri Lanka, there are several (approx: 07) wind power plants producing 10MW from each plant.

Leave a Reply

